05.11.17 – Through the Rabbit Hole and Back Out Again

Hello there!

This is quite the late post. I’m sorry about that. It’s been quite a sombre day at my workplace because of an unfortunate accident. Also, I’ve recently been out of focus lately. I’ve kinda went back a huge rabbit hole that I seem to find myself going to over and over again for the past few years. This rabbit hole…is musical theatre.

I used to go to school for musical theatre. In fact, my first year out of high school, I got accepted into a musical theatre program at a local university here in Vancouver (for those of you local, you know which school I’m talking about). To say that I had fun is an understatement. It was tough, but it was so fulfilling to just sing my heart out onstage and perform for people. There was something that enticed me to keep doing it and to keep performing, singing, dancing, and acting for people.

However, it was around this time that I began drawing closer to God and, on my last semester of first year, God called me to Bible College two provinces away. I was definitely heartbroken. I wanted to finish my musical theatre program and graduate. I wanted to audition for musicals and plays. I wanted to be an ensemble member or have a supporting role in the musical. I wanted to sing those big musical theatre songs like “If I Can’t Love Her” from Beauty and the Beast or, from a more recent musical, “Waving Through a Window” from Dear Evan Hansen. I wanted to be a part of big musicals like The Lion King or Les Misérables. I wanted to take part in a lead role, and I was so close before I left as my class was going to do Violet and one of the lead parts was an African-American who was a baritone (I’m not African-American, but I can play as one!). I wanted to be a part of that, but God directed me away from it.

To be honest, it’s hard to say that he removed me from it, although this is the truth.

I still think that I hold some bitter feelings against God about it. I feel like I’ve been robbed of something that was so ingrained in my core, and that I could have been somewhere right now if He didn’t take me away from it. I could be travelling or in another part of the world if I didn’t leave. I could have met so many people and made so many friends in the industry where I can network with them and be a part of something amazing. I could be. Really, I could.

But once you get the calling of God, it’s hard to do anything else.

As much as I wanted to do musical theatre, I feel like God has something else for me. I feel like He led me to another path for a reason. I feel – well, I know – that God has something amazing planned for me and that He is paving my path as I write this. There is something that He is preparing me for that is greater than my passion for musical theatre. I know that, whatever it is, He is going to lead me more towards Him and He is going to draw me even closer to Him.

There is something more, but I have to believe and wait that He will bring me to it.

“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.”
– Jeremiah 29:11-13 ESV

TL;DR – Keith went down rabbit hole of musical theatre. Keith feels sad that he can’t do big roles in musical theatre. Keith felt robbed by God, but God called Keith. He called him to do something amazing. All Keith has to do is wait for it. Keith, remember Jeremiah 29:11-13.

Leave a Reply

